Home > Debt Consolidation > The Dangers of Debt Consolidation

The Dangers of Debt Consolidation

Some debt consolidation companies use tactics that are not legal, including misrepresentation.

Debt consolidation loans operate on the basis that you will borrow enough money to pay off all your debt at once, and leave you with one single loan payment.

But, it’s not quite that simple.

 

WHAT IS THE REAL TRUTH ABOUT DEBT CONSOLIDATION COMPANIES?

1. The truth is that these debt angels build in a fee, THEIR fee, as part of your new monthly payment, But, you may be so desperate and they may be so vague when you talk to them that this gets missed in the discussion.

 The fee can be as much as 10% of the payment. (For example, $50 on a $500 monthly payment) or could be up to 15% of your monthly payment ($75 on a $500 monthly payment!)

2. This is what can happen:

They take your payment, pass it on to your creditor (whoever you may owe money to) and it is a win-win, they then can BOTH make money from you, the debt consolidation service AND your creditor.

3. Some of the debt consolidation plans take anywhere from 15 to 30 years to completely repay.

If you know you aren’t disciplined enough to deal with the causes of your spending, you are probably better off not consolidating your debt.

At the end of the day you need to realize that there is nothing that is going to be a quick fix in life.

A debt consolidation loan, while it makes logical sense, is only going to be a temporary band-aid solution if you don’t get your spending under control.

And it will not only take a long time, it can cost you a lot. (Remember they are in business to make money).

It’s fair to say that most people who already have built up large debt are those who can’t control their spending in the first place, so it’s highly likely they will fail even after taking the debt consolidation route.

It is only through changing your spending habits that you really benefit from a debt consolidation loan anyway.

Why not learn through managing your current debt mess, rather than learn through a debt consolidation loan only to find that the mess has now gotten bigger?

If you are ready to get your debt under control, you may want to consider a certified debt counselor.

Getting professional help in managing your debt can help you change your credit behavior. People that have taken on too much debt tend to go into denial; they’d rather not know how much debt they owe. A professional debt manager will make you face up to your obligations.

You can get help from an organization like the National Foundation for Credit Counseling. NFCC has branches throughout the country; they are a non-profit, community organization that provides free and confidential debt management advice to anyone who needs it. You can even consult with them over the phone.

Consumer credit counseling will allow you to enter into a debt management plan with your creditors. There’s a possibility to reduce your monthly payments, but you’ll still be able to pay your balance in full. As long as your payments continue to be made on time each month, consumer credit counseling does not hurt your credit.

Robert Barrett, president and chief executive of InCharge Institute, advises consumers struggling with debt to seek advice through the websites of the Association of Independent Consumer Credit Counseling Agencies (www.aicca.org) or the National Foundation for Credit Counseling (www.nfcc.org), credit counseling industry associations that require their members to meet high business standards.

If you are still considering a debt consolidation company, be sure to know the Pro’s and Con’s.

Remember that educating yourself on the options available is the key to getting yourself back on track.

  1. abdullahibgg
    May 26, 2019 at 5:28 pm

    Instant cash offer here apply now

    ALL LOAN SERVICES AVAILABLE

    Commercial Loans
    Personal Loans
    Business Loans
    Investments Loans
    Development Loans
    Acquisition Loans
    Construction loans
    Business Loans And many More:

    Contact Us At : abdullahibrahimlender@gmail.com
    whatspp Number +918929490461
    Mr Abdullah Ibrahim

  2. July 17, 2013 at 11:28 am

    Upon returning to the starting line, the first player must pass the sugar cube to
    the next teammate in line and so on. Even
    Halloween parties with the very best Halloween costumes can get dry
    after everyone’s seen the costumes to be seen and passed out the candy to the beggars. Cranberry studios developed this sequel while publisher Anaconda brings it to you in stores.

  3. Mr Caleb Johnson
    June 3, 2013 at 8:20 am

    Do you need a loan?Email us at:johnson_fundhome@outlook.com. with the information below.

    Name:
    Sex:
    Age:
    Country:
    Loan Amount:
    Loan Duration:
    Phone Number:
    State:
    Income:
    Email Address:

  4. May 31, 2013 at 12:54 pm

    My programmer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using
    Movable-type on a number of websites for about
    a year and am worried about switching to another platform.
    I have heard good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  5. May 31, 2013 at 11:48 am

    Wow, this post is fastidious, my sister is analyzing these kinds of things,
    so I am going to convey her.

  6. May 31, 2013 at 11:41 am

    When someone writes an piece of writing he/she maintains the idea of a user
    in his/her brain that how a user can understand it.
    So that’s why this paragraph is great. Thanks!

  7. May 31, 2013 at 9:12 am

    Simply wish to say your article is as astounding.
    The clarity in your put up is just excellent and that
    i can think you are an expert on this subject. Fine along with your permission let me to snatch your RSS feed to stay up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please continue the rewarding work.

  8. May 16, 2013 at 10:07 am

    I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or blog posts on this kind of house . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web site. Reading this info So i’m satisfied to show that I have
    a very just right uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what I needed.
    I most definitely will make certain to don?t disregard this site and give
    it a glance on a constant basis.

  9. May 5, 2013 at 11:36 am

    I drop a leave a response each time I appreciate a post on a site
    or I have something to valuable to contribute to the conversation.
    It’s a result of the fire communicated in the article I read. And on this post The Dangers of Debt Consolidation | FindHelpToPayMyBills. I was excited enough to post a leave a responsea response :-) I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you do not mind. Could it be only me or does it look as if like some of the comments appear like left by brain dead folks? :-P And, if you are posting at additional social sites, I would like to keep up with everything new you have to post. Would you make a list every one of all your public pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    • May 14, 2013 at 11:07 am

      Thank you for your kind words. I will be posting again soon. I am disheartened by those who are trying to scam people in need, and by those who are just asking for someone to meet their needs instead of contacting the resources listed on the links on this site.

  10. May 5, 2013 at 9:52 am

    Having read this I believed it was extremely enlightening. I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both
    reading and posting comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  11. May 5, 2013 at 9:11 am

    I simply couldn’t go away your website before suggesting that I really loved the usual info a person provide for your visitors? Is gonna be again regularly to investigate cross-check new posts

  12. May 4, 2013 at 11:12 am

    Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you
    amend your site, how can i subscribe for a blog website?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear idea

  13. April 22, 2013 at 7:35 am

    Your method of describing everything in this piece
    of writing is genuinely fastidious, every one can without difficulty
    understand it, Thanks a lot.

  14. April 20, 2013 at 10:36 am

    Today, I went to the beach front with my kids.
    I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old
    daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the
    shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

  15. April 20, 2013 at 7:52 am

    I like what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and
    exposure! Keep up the good works guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll.

  16. April 5, 2013 at 8:44 pm

    What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this website regularly, this
    website is actually good and the viewers are actually
    sharing pleasant thoughts.

  17. Mrs Jessicca
    February 27, 2013 at 12:07 am

    Hello every one,
    My name is Mrs Jessica i live here in
    USA and
    I am talking as the happiest person in
    the
    whole wild world today and I told my
    self that
    any lender that rescue my family
    from our
    poor situation, I will tell the name to
    the
    whole wild world and I am so happy
    to say
    that my family is back for good
    because I was
    in need of a loan of $70,000 to start
    my
    life all over as I am a single mum
    with 3 kids
    and the whole world seemed like it
    was
    hanging on me until I met the God
    sent
    loan lender that changed my life and
    that of
    my family, a God fearing lender,Mr.
    Robert Louis, The owner of LOUIS
    LOAN COMPANY. He was the savior
    God
    sent to rescue my family and at first I
    thought it was not going to
    be possible until
    I received my loan of $70,000 and
    I will advise any one who is in
    genuine need
    of a loan to contact via:
    Louisloancompany@yahoo.com .

  18. sr moses
    February 7, 2013 at 2:13 am

    Attention!

    I am mr ricardo, a private money lender. I
    give out loans at an interest rate of 3% per
    year and up to $ 500.00 to $ 50,000,000.00 as a
    loan offer. 100% Project Funding with secured
    and unsecured loans are available. We
    guarantee the distribution of financial services
    to our many clients around the world. With
    our flexible lending packages, loans can be
    processed and funds transferred to the
    borrower within the shortest possible time.
    We operate under clear and understandable
    terms and we offer loans of all kinds to
    interested clients, firms, companies, and all
    kinds of business organizations, private
    individuals and real estate investors. Simply fill
    out the form below and get back to us as we
    expect your prompt and immediate response,
    EMAIL U.S.AT:ricardoloanfirm@yahoo.com
    Interested applicant should fill in our
    application form below.
    FIRST necessary information
    Full name ……….
    Age …….
    Personal phone number …….
    Country ……
    Email ……….
    Address ……..
    State …..
    Age ………
    Have you applied before?…..
    Marital status ……….
    Loan amount needed as loan ……….
    Loan Duration …….
    Occupation ……..
    Monthly income ……..
    Do you know English?………
    GET BACK TO US NOW.
    Mr.ricardo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Please share your comments about this site.